A Strangely Isolated Place

2020 | Label Compilation

In December of 2020, one of my favourite imprints released a gorgeous label compilation! Ryan Griffin has been lovingly curating every single release on A Strangely Isolated Place since 2012. He’s also compiled sublime Reflection mixes which I have happily syndicated on Headphone Commute. Following the first label showcase launched in 2019, Ryan puts together ten tracks, including a few previously unavailable as individual pieces, that make up this 2020 Label Compilation. As a bonus, this release includes an hour-long continuous mix (available as part of a digital-only purchase), which I have arranged with Ryan to share with you today. “I hope the (continuous) year-end mix will become a regular occurrence going forward,” says Griffin about the release. “Many of you will know a big part of my inspiration and passion lies in DJ’ing and classic mix CDs. If the label momentum continues and releases keep coming as planned, then each year I’d like to invite a DJ to select and mix tracks from the label – make an annual tradition out of it.” This compilation is still available for purchase on a CD for only $10, while the digital-only album is up for grabs for only $1! Please see this label Bandcamp page.


  •  Olga WojciechowskaLabyrinth Made Of Labyrinths
  •  WanderwellePresumed Lost
  •  Blinkar från NorrMetaphors For Things
  •  Leandro Fresco & Rafael Anton IrisarriCuando La Rutina Nos Toma Desprevenidos
  •  Markus GuentnerGradient Spirits (Excerpt)
  •  Quiet PlacesTrack 8
  •  Merrin KarrasDominions
  •  DammRhein Valley
  •  Christian KleineHelios Flood
  •  Gastón ArévaloSur les traces des explorateurs
  •  Merrin KarrasSilent Planet (Excerpt)
  •  Gadi SassoonLife On A Tidally Locked Planet