Sun Hammer + Radere

Journey Into Lotophagen

Well now… It feels like I’m back… For the last week I was “displaced” from my home, due to hurricane Sandy (read up on my status update) and it feels like I’m back… Not really 100% in the routine, which explains why this Headphone Commute mix gets published on a Tuesday, but it’s the mix itself that allows me to fall back into the state of “norm”. Now then… Today’s exclusive podcast comes courtesy of Sun Hammer (Jay Bodley) and Radere (Carl Ritger), two friends and artists who have recently released an album, Lotophagen on Futuresequence. This collaborative mix focuses on the duo’s influences gravitating a bit towards the drone and noise spectrum, while showcasing the elements from the album itself. There should be a lot of familiar and favorite names on this selection, plus a few previously unknown pieces that you must seek out.  Here’s more on Lotophagen:

Combining both artists’ unique approach to sound art, the album’s five epic tracks present hyper-real landscapes comprised of heavily sculptured drones, edged with industrial repetition and illuminated by light sources from within the cavernous depths. 

Be sure to check out Futuresequence’s upcoming showcase featuring Radere, Sun Hammer, and Widesky, performing alongside Venison Whirled at the East Salvage Vanguard Theater in Austin, TX on November 11th, 2012.

1 Mount Eerie – Over Dark Water (Clear Moon, P.W. Elverum & Sun Ltd)
2 Félicia Atkinson – Entomology (SEQUENCE2, Futuresequence)
3 Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – The Radiant Tree (Visiting This World, En/Of)
4 Le Berger – A Rainbow of Monisms (RGB Interact, Disquiet Junto)
5 Sun Hammer + Radere – •••••• (unreleased)
6 Christina Kubisch – Magnetic Flights (Magnetic Flights, Important)
7 Asher – Untitled 5 (Untitled Landscapes 1, Room40)
8 Ben Vida – Ssseeeeiiiiii (Esstends-Esstends-Esstends, Pan)
9 Richard Chartier + Taylor Deupree – Specification.Fifteen (Specification.Fifteen, LINE)
10 Damian Valles – Movement III (Nonparallel (In Four Movements), Experimedia)
11 Thomas Köner – Novaya Zemlya 1 (Novaya Zemlya, Touch)
12 Kane Ikin + David Wenngren – Veil (Strangers, Kesh)
13 Robert Curgenven + Richard Chartier – Displacement (Built Through, LINE)
14 Barn Owl – The Darkest Night Since 1683 (Lost In the Glare, Thrill Jockey)
15 Sun Hammer + Radere – •• (Lotophagen, Futuresequence)
16 Taylor Deupree + Marcus Fischer – Cloudline (In a Place of Such Graceful Shapes, 12k)
17 Tim Hecker – Harmony In Blue III (Harmony In Ultraviolet, Kranky)

[ S T R E A M ] | [ D O W N L O A D ] | [ P O D C A S T ] | [ i T U N E S ]