Headphone Commute’s Best of 2009 : Music For Vibrating Your Neighbors’ Dusty China

It’s January 1st, 2010, and my jet-pack isn’t here. There is no smell-a-vision and the intarwebs are still damn slow. Yes, I can carry around over 1300 albums in my pocket, but I still have to worry about a plastic syringe in someone’s pants. It’s January 1st, and my neighbors are still sleeping. It is time to send some low frequency rumbles through the concrete to their beds. If anything was progressively exciting this decade, then it was the evolution of bass music originating in South London. Here is a selection of full length albums that took that sound just a tiny bit further. Happy New Year!

(entries are listed in alphabetical order by artist. links point to album reviews on headphone commute)
2562 – Unbalance (Tectonic)
Boxcutter – Arecibo Message (Planet Mu) [REVIEW]
Caspa – Everybody’s Talking, Nobody’s Listening (Fabric)
Clubroot – Clubroot (Lo Dubs)
FaltyDL – Love Is A Liability (Planet Mu)
Harmonic 313 – When Machines Exceed Human Intelligence (Warp) [REVIEW]
King Midas Sound – Waiting For You… (Hyperdub)
Kryptic Minds – One Of Us (Swamp 81)
Martyn – Great Lengths (3024)
Silkie – City Limits (Deep Medi Musik)

See more favorite selections on Headphone Commute’s Best of 2009