Release Notes

Label: Home Normal
Release: Adrift (Remastered + Remixed)
Date: December 10, 2020
Mastered By: Ian Hawgood
Artwork By: Giulio Aldinucci

This morning I am spending some time in the company of Pleq (that’s Bartosz Dziadosz) and Hakobune (Takahiro Yorifuji). Their album, Adrift, was originally released on the Nomadic Kids Republic sublabel of Home Normal, back in 2012. And now, it’s not only remastered [and textured] by Ian Hawgood but also complemented with reworks by Olan Mill, Polar M, and the remix I am premiering for you today by Jason Corder, aka offthesky. So yeah, a bunch of characters on this one. Adrift is an album of organic ambiance, warm texture, and minuscule glitch that sounds as gorgeous and regal as it did eight years ago. Well, maybe a little more regal. For this edition, Ian has painstakingly reworked the pieces “from the original masters to reel-to-reel for a wholly new, more open, and nuanced experience.” All that expensive analog gear put to good use there, eh? The result is a showcase of modern ambiance that still sounds fresh and new, with Corder’s remix adding in a touch of sub-particle-sized arrangement in subtle sonics and reminiscent din. The whole package is rounded off with brand new cover art by Giulio Aldinucci, which is too beautiful not to include here in its larger format. Thank heavens for Home Normal.