Snorri Hallgrímsson

Chasing The Present

Release Notes

Label: Moderna
Release: Chasing The Present
Release Date: February 21st, 2020

Today I am running with an exclusive premiere of a piece by Snorri Hallgrímsson from an upcoming release by the same title on Moderna. “Chasing the Present” is the title track from the soundtrack for the award-winning documentary by Mark Waters, in which he follows James Sebastiano, “a materially successful young man,” as he battles crippling anxiety. Hallgrímsson’s compositions, produced by Ólafur Arnalds, create an atmosphere that is at once, introspective, personal, and deeply poignant. I’m looking forward to connecting with the soundtrack as a whole, but for now, I’ll leave you with this single teaser.

Hallgrímsson’s music makes use of filtered strings and pianos to emphasize his depression – but in this stunningly beautiful track, the filter opens completely to showcase the mind’s enormous potential when it breaks free from perpetual anxiety.

Although occasionally, I get overwhelmed by thoughts of our brief existence, and perhaps that is a form of mild anxiety, I too am in a constant state of inner battle, trying to be here, right now, chasing the present…